## ABAWD Work Rules – Geographically Waived Areas for 2020

Certain clients are exempt from the ABAWD Work Rules because they reside in areas of the state that have unemployment rates of over 10 percent or that do not have a sufficient number of jobs to provide employment opportunities for residents.

As such, ABAWDs living in the areas listed below are not subject to the ABAWD Work Rules between January 1, 2020 and March 31, 2020.

Cities/towns highlighted have been added to the list of waived areas effective as of 1/1/20\*\*

CITY/TOWN

**ACUSHNET** 

**ADAMS** 

AGAWAM (includes Feeding Hills)

**AQUINNAH** 

BECKET

**BERKLEY** 

**BLANDFORD** 

**BREWSTER** 

**BRIMFIELD** 

CHARLEMONT

CHATHAM (includes North Chatham, West Chatham and South Chatham)

**CHESHIRE** 

CHESTER

CHICOPEE (includes Cabotville, Chicopee Falls, Willimansett, Fairview, Smith Highlands, Aldenville, Burnett Road and Westover)

**CHILMARK** (including Menemsha)

**CLARKSBURG** 

DARTMOUTH (includes North Dartmouth, South Dartmouth, Nonquitt, Round Hill, Barney's Joy, and Mishaum Point)

DENNIS (includes Dennis Port, North Dennis, East Dennis, South Dennis, and West Dennis)

**DIGHTON** (including North Dighton)

**EAST LONGMEDOW** 

EASTHAM (includes North Eastham)

EDGARTOWN (includes Chappaquiddick and Katama)

FAIRHAVEN (includes Fairhaven Center, North Fairhaven, East Fairhaven, Oxford, Poverty Point, Nasketucket, Sconticut Neck, and Winsegansett Heights)

**FALL RIVER** 

FALMOUTH (includes East Falmouth, North Falmouth, Falmouth Village, Silver Beach, West Falmouth, Teaticket, Hatchville, Waquoit, and Woods Hole)

FLORIDA (includes Drury)

FREETOWN (includes Assonet and East Freetown)

GOSNOLD (includes the Elizabeth Islands, Nonamesset Island, Uncatena Island, Naushon Island, Pasque Island, Nashawena Island, Penikese Island, and Cuttyhunk Island)

GRANVILLE

**HALIFAX** 

**HAMPDEN** 

**HANCOCK** 

HARWICH (includes Harwich Port, Harwich Center, Pleasant Lake, South Harwich, North Harwich, East Harwich, and West Harwich)

**HINSDALE** 

**HOLLAND** 

HOLYOKE

**LAKEVILLE** 

**LAWRENCE** 

**LONGMEADOW** 

LUDLOW

**MASHPEE** 

**MATTAPOISETT** 

**METHUEN** 

MIDDLEBOROUGH (frequently written as Middleboro)

**MIDDLETON** 

MONROE (includes Monroe Bridge)

**MONSON** 

**MONTGOMERY** 

**NEW ASHFORD** 

**NEW BEDFORD** 

**NORTH ADAMS** 

**NORTH ANDOVER** 

OAK BLUFFS (includes East Chop)

**OTIS** 

PALMER (includes Bondsville, Thorndike, Depot Village, and Three Rivers)

**PLYMPTON** 

**PROVINCETOWN** 

**RAYNHAM** 

ROCHESTER (includes Bisbee Corner, East Rochester, North Rochester, and Varella Corner)

**ROWE** 

**RUSSELL** (includes Woronoco)

SAVOY

**SOMERSET** 

SOUTHBRIDGE

**SOUTHWICK** 

SPRINGFIELD (includes Indian Orchard)

SWANSEA (includes Barneyville, North Swansea, Swansea Village, Birch Swamp Corner, Hortonville, Luther Corner, South Swansea, Touissett, Ocean Grove, and Smokerise)

**TAUNTON** 

TISBURY (includes Vineyard Haven, Makonikey, Pilot Hill, West Chop and Lambert's Cove)

**TOLLAND** 

TRURO (includes North Truro)

WALES

WARE

WARREN (includes West Warren)

WASHINGTON

WELLFLEET (includes South Wellfleet)

**WEST SPRINGFIELD** 

WEST TISBURY (INCLUDES Vineyard Haven)

WESTFIELD

WESTPORT (includes Head of Westport, South Westport, Westport Point, Central Village, North Westport, and Westport Harbor/Acoaxet)

**WILBRAHAM** 

WINDSOR

YARMOUTH (includes South Yarmouth, West Yarmouth, and Yarmouth Port)

\*\* This list of 83 cities/ towns and introductory and text is from DTA.

Highlighting and formatting (columns) from MLRI 1/16/20